Home
Catalog
Calendar
Databases
Library Services
Adult Services
Kids
Teens
Library Newsletter
Location / Map
About Us
Contact Us
Button Text
 Community Links
 SLC Library Maps
 Michigan Room
Provided by
 
Roseville Public Library Magazine

The following databases are provided by the Roseville Public Library.
AllData   In Library Use Only
A comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
Making the Right Connection
A user-friendly directory for Macomb County school personnel to help link students and their families with community services.
SLC Digital Media Archive
This resource gives users access to historical and genealogical materials in digital form.  View old pictures, maps, and documents from Macomb County, Troy, and Harper Woods.

Academic OneFile
Recommended for: Colleges and Universities. Mostly full text. Academic OneFile is the premiere source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, literary criticisms and reference works that contain multiple biographies. This database provides citations only.

Books & Authors
Recommended for:  General user, Reading advice.  A database to help you decide what to read next.  Search by character, topic, setting, time period, genre, title, author, and series.  Includes over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner, and librarian's favorites lists. Titles include both fiction and non-fiction.

Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together information on companies, markets and industries. Mostly full-text.
ChiltonLibrary.com
Full text. Automotive repair information covering the most popular models from the last 30 years.
Computer Database
Recommended for: General use. Some full text. Computer Database has over 2,687,481 articles from journals, trade magazines and popular computing magazines.

CultureGrams
Upper Elementary through High School and general user. Full-text. A leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe, this database includes four editions: the World Edition (for middle school and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students). Also includes, photos, downloadable slideshows and streaming videos, build-your-own sortable data tables and graphs, interviews with native children and adults, printable maps and flags, sounds files for the national anthems and country names and much more. Written by local experts, there is information on government, religion, daily life and customs, history, plus maps, flags, and both photographs and videos. CultureGrams reports are updated twice annually.

eBooks (formerly NetLibrary)
Recommended for: General user. All full text. Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only. Netlibrary users ALERT--the collection has changed its name to eBooks. Along with the name change come access changes as well. Personal usernames and passwords will no longer work.Logging in from MeL.org remains the same.

eLibrary
Recommended for: Upper Elementary through High School. Full-text (1981-Present). Find over 2000 articles, ebooks, transcripts, photos, websites, focused multi-media, maps and reference sources such as almanacs and encyclopedias. Personal portfolios and tools allow users to tag articles, share links, take notes, build reading lists, and design timelines and slideshows. Includes reading level search, spell check, integrated dictionary and language.

eLibrary Elementary
Recommended for: K-12. All full text. Video, audio, books, pictures, magazines, maps, newspapers, & transcripts of TV and radio shows.

ERIC (free version)
Recommended for: Educators, pre-service teachers and parents. Abstracts and/or Full-text. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials such as conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and more.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Recommended for: Junior and Community Colleges. Mostly full text. Magazine, newspaper and journal articles appropriate to college and university -level research. All topics.

FDSys (Federal Digital System)
Freely available materials. FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications which include Congressional, Presidential and Federal agency materials. Through FDsys, you are able to search, browse and download documents and publications.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Recommended for: General user. All full text. Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

General BusinessFile ASAP
All full text. A combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings provide information on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes links to related SICs.
General OneFile
Mostly full text. A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, law, literature. Updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold
Mostly full text. General Reference Center Gold on InfoTrac Web provides one-stop access to general interest magazines, business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images and newspaper articles.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Mostly full text. Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes health/medical journals, pamphlets, videos, and articles from general interest publications as well as reference books.
Health Reference Center Academic
Mostly full text. Provides access to professional and personal health magazines, journals and reference sources.
HeritageQuest Online
Some full text. HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images and extensive indexing from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. Federal Census collection, over 20,000 family and local history books, and index to 2 million magazine articles on genealogy and a vast database of Revolutionary War records.
Informe!
Full text. Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Full text. Over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of newspapers, magazines and reference books.

InfoTrac Newsstand
Recommended for: General user. All full text. A collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world. Includes the New York Times (1985-current).

InfoTrac Student Edition
Mostly full text. Over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.

Job and Career Accelerator
Recommended for: General user. Easy-to-use online application combining everything you need for a successful job search. This innovative job hunting system enables users to explore, in detail, over 1,000 different occupations and match interests and skills with the career that’s best. It allows searches for over five million recent local and national job postings while conveniently organizing and tracking the users' job search progress, all in one place. In addition, job seekers can create professional resumes and cover letters as well as practice and master interviewing skills.

Kids InfoBits
All full text. Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines.

Lansing State Journal
Recommended for: General user. Full-text. Comprehensive coverage (2002-Present) of articles, stories, columns, commentaries, reviews and more for the newspaper from the state capital of Michigan.

LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help increase success for testing in the areas of GED, ACT, SAT, TOEFL, civil service, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, nursing, health careers and cosmetology. Included are skills improvement courses.
LegalTrac
Some full text. Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®.
Making of Modern Michigan
Some full text. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials and much more from local history collections around the state.

MedlinePlus (free version)
Recommended for: Patients and health professionals. Some full text. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine.

Michigan Authors and Illustrators
Reading Advice. A searchable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information. Indicates whether person will do library presentations.

Michigana (Sabin Collection): Sources in U.S. History Online
This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books.

NetLibrary - see eBooks

New York Times
All full text. The daily newspaper New York Times 1995-present.

Nursing Resource Center
Recommended for: Nursing students and other healthcare professionals. Mostly Full-text. Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals.

OAlster (free version)
Recommended for: General User. This catalog of digitized materials includes books, articles and multimedia, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,000 contributors worldwide.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Recommended for: Middle school through college undergraduate and General user. Full-text. Features contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

SIRS Discoverer Deluxe
Recommended for: K-9. All full text. A children's database of articles, books, video, audio on all topics. The interface is appropriate to children and includes reading levels and teacher's help pages.
SIRS Renaissance
 Full text. Provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and visual arts.

Small Business Resource Center
Recommended for: Small business owners/entrepreneurs and general user. Full-text. Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)
Some full text. In the 1960s, the Michigan State University (MSU) Library began to collect printed turfgrass materials.

WorldCat (free version)
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat.org lets you find an item of interest and then locate a library near you that owns it.



Friends of the Library

Friends of the Library

Roseville Historical & Genealogical Society

Roseville Historical & Genealogical Society

City of Roseville

City of Roseville

Macomb County

Macomb County website

MeL

Michigan eLibrary

SLC member
 

 
   
   
   
   
   
Support our
Endowment Fund

Used Book Shop
2nd Thursday of the Month
5:30-7:30 PM
(Friends members 5-7:30 PM)

 
counter visits since Feb. 5, 2010

     Roseville Public Library                                                          Last Update 7/13/10                                                              www.rosevillelibrary.org